PSA Media Releases – Bill Kelly New Chair of Pharmacy Board of Australia

July 8, 2015
PSA congratulates ACT pharmacist Bill Kelly on appointment as Chair of Pharmacy Board of Australia

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has congratulated well known pharmacist Bill Kelly on his appointment as Chair of the Pharmacy Board of Australia.

Announcing the appointment, the Minster for Health, Sussan Ley, said Mr Kelly’s succession to the leadership role reflected the depth and breadth of his skills and experience, including those gained serving on the board as inaugural practitioner member from the Australian Capital Territory since 2009.

National President of PSA, Joe Demarte, congratulated Mr Kelly on being appointed Chair of the board.

“Mr Kelly’s career has spanned more than 50 years, including some 32 years military service,” Mr Demarte said.

“Bill’s long-standing and diverse career, serving the profession and the community, has been a shining example of excellence in our profession.

“His skills and talents were recognised with his appointment to the ACT Pharmacy Board where he has served for many years, including in the role of President.”

“His appointment as chair of the national board is fitting recognition of his commitment, dedication and skills.”

Mr Demarte also congratulated three new appointments to the Board:  Ms Joy Hewitt, practitioner member from Victoria; Ben Wilkins, practitioner member from New South Wales, and Mark Kirschbaum, practitioner member from Tasmania.

“I also congratulate all those Board members who have been reappointed to their roles.”

Mr Demarte also thanked outgoing Chair Steve Marty.

“Steve Marty was appointed in 2009 as the inaugural Pharmacy Board Chair and practitioner member from Victoria and has guided the board in its early years,” Mr Demarte said.

“Mr Marty has been an inspiration to the profession and his legacy is one which will help to guide and inspire future generations of pharmacists.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *