NPS Media Releases – New Medicinewise Honorary Members

20 January, 2015

Three new honorary members of NPS MedicineWise have been appointed following an extensive call for nominations.
Ms Mary Hemming, Professor Gillian Shenfield AM and Associate Professor Andrea Mant were invited by the NPS MedicineWise Board to become honorary members of NPS MedicineWise.

“The three new honorary members have each dedicated themselves over many years to the quality use of medicines in their chosen fields, and have also supported NPS MedicineWise from its inception”, says NPS MedicineWise Board Chair, Dr Janette Randall.

“Professor Gillian Shenfield AM has provided outstanding service to the field of clinical pharmacology and therapeutics in Australia and to education as recognised by her appointment as a Member of the Order of Australia in 2005. Professor Shenfield was involved with the National Medicines Policy since its inception, was a member of the Consumer Medicines Information (CMI) Quality Assurance Reference Group for 7 years and is currently chair of the RACP Therapeutics committee. She has also served on the Australian Drug Evaluation Committee, the Medicines Evaluation Committee for OTC Medicines and the Complementary Medicines Evaluation Committee.

“Ms Mary Hemming, has focused her career on the optimal use of medicines. She was instrumental in the founding of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited and served as the inaugural CEO. Ms Hemming has made outstanding contributions to improve the safety and quality of health services and treatment guidelines over more than 30 years. She has served as federal president of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, as a member of both the Commonwealth’s PHARM Committee and the International Society of Drug Bulletins. She has also worked with the World Health Organization to provide workers in developing countries with access to the Therapeutic Guidelines.

“Associate Professor Andrea Mant, general practitioner and former chair of the National Therapeutics Committee of the Council of the RACGP is an acknowledged expert in the area of general practice prescribing and community use of medicines. She has been a highly regarded member of numerous committees and advisory boards including the Advisory Board of the NSW Medicines Information Centre, the NSW Therapeutic Assessment Group and a consultant in community medicine to the Department of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology at St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney.

“All of our new honorary members have a strong commitment to quality use of medicines and better health outcomes for Australians, and the NPS MedicineWise Board is delighted to publicly acknowledge their respective contributions.”

The new members join inaugural honorary members Ms Jan Donovan, Professor Emeritus Lloyd Sansom AO and Professor Richard Day AM, who were appointed in 2011; Dr Stephen Phillips OAM, Emeritus Professor Anthony Smith and Ms Janne Graham AM who were appointed in 2012; and Mr Gerard Stevens AM, Dr John Aloizos AM and Mr Tony Wade who were appointed in 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *