NPS Media Release – New Honorary Memberships

12 JANUARY 2016

Three highly respected health professionals have been appointed honorary members of NPS MedicineWise, recognising their contributions and leadership in quality use of medicines.

Mr Simon Appel OAM, Dr Sue Hunt and Professor Robert Moulds were invited to become honorary members at the November 2015 Annual General Meeting of NPS MedicineWise following an extensive call for nominations and short listing process.

NPS MedicineWise Board Chair, Mr Peter Turner, welcomed the appointment of the new honorary members who join an elite group of pioneers and high achievers in the field of quality use of medicines.

“The three new honorary members have each dedicated themselves over many years to quality use of medicines in their chosen fields, and have also supported NPS MedicineWise from its inception,” says Mr Turner.

*  Simon Appel has made significant contributions to the quality use of medicines as a pharmacist and passionate innovator across a broad range of organisational roles spanning over 40 years. Simon’s other appointments include the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Pharmacy Guild of Australia and the Pharmacy Board of ACT; he was also a director and chair of Sigma Company Limited for 10 years and has also owned three community pharmacies in metropolitan Melbourne. A highly significant contribution was heading the National Return and Disposal of Unwanted Medicines (NATRUM) Project since its inception in 1998.

*  Dr Susan Hunt has been an outstanding mentor to nurses and leader in quality use of medicines. Her expertise was recognised by the government with her appointment as the Senior Nurse Adviser between 2007 and 2015 where she provided clinical advice. Dr Hunt was the first nurse to represent nurses and nursing on APAC, PHARM and the NPS MedicineWise board. She was also the founding leader of the ANF/RCNA QUM Network, a position she held for many years.

*  Professor Robert Moulds has dedicated his career to the advancement of quality use of medicines in Australia and developing countries around the world. Professor Moulds is an Emeritus Professor of Medicine at Fiji National University and works as a medical adviser to Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd and Health Education Australia Ltd. He is a member of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, International Society of Drug Bulletins, Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists, and chair of the NPS RADAR editorial committee. During his career he has made an outstanding contribution to the medical field through his leadership as chair of multiple committees, foundations, boards and expert groups.

“All of our new honorary members have demonstrated exceptional commitment to quality use of medicines and better health outcomes for Australians, and the NPS MedicineWise Board is delighted to publicly acknowledge their respective contributions,” says Mr Turner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *